Well, I have to hand it to you guys. You programmers and your secret handshakes, ridiculous jargon, and inside jokes–it had me fooled for quite some time.

At long last, I’ve peeked behind the curtain. I half expected to find the large green head of an omnipotent being. What I found was a whole lot of logic and some clever little workarounds. It turns out programming is accessible to us mere mortals after all. Classes? A bunch of data variables and functions. Objects? A single instance of a Class. Making stuff happen? Pass the method on the object. Rinse and repeat.
I’ve got a long ways to go. I’ve only written a few simple programs in…java. But its a start. And for me, its an awesome start. Full blown web development is the goal so I’ve got Ant running, and the incredible Play! framework ready to go. One Hello World down, one future in development to go.
